DigitalGlobe releases images of Northern California wildfires

October 12, 2017 0 Comments

DigitalGlobe has released high-resolution satellite images of the wildfires burning in Northern California. These wildfires have killed at least 21 people, destroyed at least 3,500 structures, and burned more than 115,000 acres.

The Oct. 10 images were collected using the Shortwave Infrared (SWIR) sensor on DigitalGlobe’s WorldView-3 satellite, which is uniquely able to pierce through the wildfire smoke to see where the fires are burning on the ground. For comparison, the ground and the fire line are completely obstructed by smoke in the natural color image of the same area (see the larger overview image on the first slide).

The Oct. 11 images were taken by DigitalGlobe’s GeoEye-1 satellite. Some of these are natural color, while others are shown in the Very Near Infrared (VNIR), where burned areas appear gray and black and healthy vegetation is red.

Additionally, DigitalGlobe has activated its Open Data Program, which provides imagery to support recovery efforts in the wake of large-scale natural disasters. Pre- and post-wildfire imagery of the affected areas are available to emergency responders on the Santa Rosa wildfires page.

Fountain Grove Golf Club in Santa Rosa, California, natural color. (Satellite image ©2017 DigitalGlobe.)

Fountain Grove Golf Club in Santa Rosa, California, natural color. (Satellite image ©2017 DigitalGlobe.)

Coffey Park in Santa Rosa,  California, color-infrared. Santa Rosa, California. (Satellite image ©2017 DigitalGlobe)

Coffey Park in Santa Rosa, California, color-infrared. Santa Rosa, California. (Satellite image ©2017 DigitalGlobe)

The northwest fire line of the wildfire that devastated Santa Rosa, California, taken by satellite Oct. 10. (Satellite image ©2017 DigitalGlobe)

The northwest fire line of the wildfire that devastated Santa Rosa, California. SWIR image taken by satellite Oct. 10. (Satellite image ©2017 DigitalGlobe)

Post a Comment

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?